Talking Funny

Jerry Seinfeld said one of most inspiring things I’ve ever heard.

Ricky Gervais hosted a show called talking funny. It was genius to hear him, Jerry Seinfeld, Chris Rock and Louis Ck discussing the magic of comedy, because they had wildly different perspectives on what that was.  Comedy is definitely an art form, and is as subjective as any other. Thats why what Jerry and Louis said at one point struck such a chord with me and I carry it with me.

Louis CK starts with saying “did you ever struggle, feel like you weren’t good ever, in the beginning?”

After a bit of back and forth, and Jerry explaining that the first time he went on stage he did five minuets and sucked for five minuets, Louis asked “well what happened between your first and second show, what made you go back on?”

“Well all I had to do was do it once, and really success wasn’t my objective, it was just, I want to be one of those guys. If I could be one of those guys, I win everything. Once I stepped on there the first time, thats it, I’m now one of these guys, and I’m just going to keep doing this.”

Louis concurred: “when I first started out in Boston, I wanted to be one of those guys, and I didn’t care if I sucked at it”.

Jerry concluded by saying “that is a very successful attitude, you just want to be one of those guys”.

If you want to be something, be it, and you will be. If you quit, you won’t be.

We all suck when we take on something new. Doing it will make you better every time. I’m thankful that I don’t have an audience yelling “you suck, get off the stage!” like every comedian has experienced.

Leave a Reply

